The Blessings of Children

Today’s Hot Drink of Choice: An early morning cup of Pomegranate Pizzaz Herb Tea to help start the day off on a reflective note (Sidebar: I proceeded to spill the tea on myself while it was still very hot. Just be glad you weren’t here to witness the note that whistled from my mouth at that point followed by a quick “Forgive me, Lord” because of one of the words I used. It’s just more proof that I haven’t arrived, and Philippians 3:12-14 is a good passage to define my life. 🙂 )

Today’s Scripture: 

It was by faith that Isaac promised blessings for the future to his sons, Jacob and Esau. – Hebrews 11:20

I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us. – Philippians 3:12-14

My kids are one of the best parts of my life. It’s funny because I’m not one of those girls who dreamed of getting married, settling down, and starting a family from the time she was old enough to think about such things. As a preteen, my head was often in the clouds. As a young woman, I was obsessed with excelling at collegiate sports and academics.

I remember having a poignant conversation with one of the camp counselors I served with at a Christian camp during the season of my life when I could drive all over the East Coast and hang out with teenagers whenever I wanted. (This was before I had kids.) She showed me a thick binder of all of the memories she was saving for her future husband and family. It was full of prayers and letters she had written for them and scraps of her life to that point.

For whatever reason, after viewing her masterpiece, I was numb. At first, I felt like some kind of failure to my gender. Then, I wondered if she was setting herself up for some kind of tremendous letdown if it all never happened. I got over it quickly because her love for, and hope in, people she hadn’t met yet was so contagious. It got me thinking, however. After that experience and a few other very motivating ones, I started to pray for whatever future family was in store for me on a daily basis.

Fast forward about fifteen years, and I find myself thankful I started praying then. I can now understand one of the points the writer of Hebrews makes in Chapter 11 about Issac’s blind trust. Being a parent requires an ridiculous amount of faith. We live in an insane world. Promising blessings to the young souls entrusted to you for a time requires a heck of a lot of courage.

It’s a journey worth fighting for, though. And it’s one I’m glad I’m on. I wouldn’t trade the drama of changing hormones and the sometimes sloppy, snot-filled kisses for anything. God has promised blessings to all of us, and it’s amazing to watch Him work in and through the lives of my own kids.

DaBoys

Signature

2 thoughts on “The Blessings of Children

  1. Great post! We are praying for our kids and their spouses, too. God has so much in store for them so I want them to press on to what lies ahead in their future as it states in Phillipians.

    By the way, you’re forgiven for the tea spilling incident, don’t beat yourself up…always pressing forward.

    Blessings!

    • Thank goodness for forgiveness! 🙂 You’re right… God has so much in store for our families and the next generation! I wish you the best as you keep moving forward as well!

Leave a Reply

