Looking for a City

Today’s Coffee of ChoiceVanilla Caramel from Newman’s Own Organics

Today’s Scripture: Each one of these people of faith died not yet having in hand what was promised, but still believing. How did they do it? They saw it way off in the distance, waved their greeting, and accepted the fact that they were transients in this world. People who live this way make it plain that they are looking for their true home. If they were homesick for the old country, they could have gone back any time they wanted. But they were after a far better country than that–heaven country. You can see why God is so proud of them, and has a City waiting for them. – Hebrews 11:13-16 from The Message

This week, I’m going to do something different and look at the sermonette in Hebrews 11:13-16 through music. I’m dedicating the songs in this post to some lesser known heroes of faith who have already gone home. I’ve been inspired by all of them in many ways, and I’m so glad they were a part of my life… if only for a time.

In honor of Irene, whose example and words of encouragement spurred my life forward.

I Can Only Imagine by Mercy Me (Watch it on GodTube.com.)

In honor of Mavis, whose joy and sense of humor I hope to one day attain a sliver of.

You Hold Me Now by Hillsong United (Watch it on GodTube.com.)

In honor of Dad, who gave me a love of music and pointed me toward Heaven with his life. I’ll always remember the way he sounded when he sang this song.

Looking for a City by The Gaithers (Watch it on GodTube.com.)

In honor of Aunt Louise, Aunt Doris, and Grandma P. Their love and life stories are proof to me of the truths in this song.

Revelation Song by Kari Jobe (Watch it on GodTube.com.)

The following link is for all those I know who have overcome adversity and are celebrating both here on earth and in heaven: http://abcnews.go.com/GMA/video/mandisas-overcomer-music-video-world-premiere-20163459. (A special shout-out in honor of Heidi, who, like Dad, Aunt Doris, and Grandma P., lost her battle to cancer WAY too soon.)

Inspired by Their Obedience and the Proverbs 31 Online Bible Study Blog Hop,
Suzanne
#FreshVision

2 thoughts on “Looking for a City

  1. Love each and every song you have picked especially The Gaither’s Looking for a City. The version that is the best is Gold City’s version with Brian Free who has a high pitched voice. Thanks for sharing this.

    • Thanks to my dad’s love of all things Southern Gospel, I’m very familiar with Brian Free! I remember attending a few Gold City concerts back in the day. 😉

Leave a Reply

