Girl Interrupted

Today’s Coffee of Choice: Dunkin’ Donuts Cinnamon Spice (because when you’re a tired mama, the Dunkin’ Donuts drive-through is a Godsend)

Today’s Scripture: “And by faith even Sarah, who was past childbearing age, was enabled to bear children because she considered him faithful who had made the promise. And so from this one man, and he as good as dead, came descendants as numerous as the stars in the sky and as countless as the sand on the seashore.” – Hebrews 11:11-12

The past couple of weeks, I’ve been digging into the first part of Abraham’s section in the “The Hall of Faith” of Scripture. Before we get into the sermonette the writer of Hebrews divides Abraham’s accomplishments with (next week), I want to reflect a bit on the first of two women mentioned in Chapter 11: Sarah.

According to some scholars, Sarah was her early 90s when she and Abraham conceived a son. Talk about a rude interruption to normal life as a senior citizen! When we dig into Abraham and Sarah’s story in Genesis, we learn that she laughed while eavesdropping in on the reveal of the miraculous interruption. This occurred during a conversation her husband had with some angels. Talk about brazen! Not only did she laugh, but she then lied about it when Abraham called her disruptive behavior out. (Please see Genesis 18:9-15 for all of this.)

For whatever reason, I find myself smiling when reading the reaction Sarah had. I also smile when I think about the little argument that took place between her and Abraham afterward.

“I did not laugh.”

I can just picture Abraham as he leaned in on a staff while his eyebrows dropped into a stern gaze.

“No, you did laugh!”

My imagination takes over, and they go back and forth like I used to with my siblings.

“Did not.”

“Did too!”

“Did NOT!”

“DID TOO!”

Sarah’s life was about to get rocked in a big way. I can’t help but think she might have been a little nervous at this point. Imagine reflecting on all the challenges ahead. I think the realization of having a teen around after already putting in a century’s worth of time on this earth would be enough to send me into shock! No wonder she was a bit of a mess.

My mom was 42 when she gave birth to me. She dealt with my tumultuous teen drama (and it was) beginning in her mid-fifties. I remember being about fifteen, looking at the stoic woman in my life one day, and thinking: “Man, Mom’s getting gray!” She stuck it out, however, and was there to welcome me when my own story was interrupted by God’s plan for new life.

God met me in a major way in the summer of 1999 when I was eighteen. He reached down into one of the lowest points I’ve ever been and pulled me up out of a big ol’ pit. “Some of God’s greatest gifts are wrapped in unlikely packages,” and mine came in the hot auditorium of Kutztown University in Pennsylvania where I was finally brought to a breaking point at a Fellowship of Christian Athletes’ sports camp. In the year prior, I had turned to a lot of other things to deal with pain no one except God knew anything about, and I had made a bit of a mess of who I was meant to be. God interrupted my life and welcomed my desperate cry for help with open arms, and it hasn’t been the same since.

Sarah had a destiny. A big part of that meant she was supposed to be Issac’s mom and partner with Abraham in parenting the beginning of a nation. She almost laughed it away, but, when God’s plans moved forward in grace, her disbelieving laughter was turned to what I believe was joyous laughter. (See the beginning of Genesis 21.) I can only imagine how her faith was catapulted to a whole other level when she gave birth after physically being beyond childbearing years.

Whether a girl’s life gets interrupted later on like Sarah’s or in the teen years like mine, God takes the impossible parts of personal situations and often allows the miraculous to happen. Have you had a heavenly interruption happen before? I always love reading or hearing about those, so please share in a comment! God bless you!

Signature

4 thoughts on “Girl Interrupted

  1. First of all, love your blog page and how cool it comes with coffee recommendations. Back to your post. I loved how you worked in the story of Sarah and Abraham and yea, serious life interruption, right? I guess it doesn’t matter like you said, where in life God interrupts us and when He does no matter what, we just need to #stickwithit and let His light shine. Thanks for sharing!! Blessings to you!!

    🙂 Trish (P31 OBS small group leader)

    • Thanks for stopping by, Trish! I love that God gives us the strength we need to #stickwithit 🙂 and manage anything that comes our way! Blessings!

  2. Thank you for the reminder that when our life gets interrupted , God wants us to pay attention as He reaches down to us to tell us He loves us mo matter what past mistakes we may have made. He says come as you are , and takes our impossible and makes things new again. Blessing as you continue to say Yes to God and #Stickwith it
    Marilyn V (OBS Group Leader)

Leave a Reply

